Roads are Lined with Lace

Our roads are now literally lined with Queen Anne’s Lace, and that means the bugs and butterflies are there, too. “Are you crazy, it’s a weed,” friends say. To me, it’s a wildflower that I’ve brought into my garden because it attracts pollinators. It’s actually wild carrot and part of the parsley family.  I love the big white umbels atop 4′ stems and the lacy green foliage. I carry a pair of hand clippers in my car and stop along the roads to collect an armful for a big bouquet by my potting shed.  The bit of yellow you see is wild fennel, another “weed” I allow into my garden. Since black licorice is my favorite candy, I swoon at the fragrance of fennel. The bees don’t even care if either has been cut–they still buzz around searching for nectar and pollen. I carefully collect the Queen Anne’s Lace blooms that have gone to seed, put them in a bucket, and then shake them in my garden where I want them to blossom next season. It’s been called “pernicious.” I suppose it could overrun my “natural” garden, but for some reason, the Queen Anne’s Lace has remained polite. It’s been invited in by me, and it’s behaving like an appreciative guest. So far . . .

About writersandy

Writer, Gardener, Crafter
This entry was posted in Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

