Captivating Books

“What books do you as an author read?” I’ve been asked many times. Good question. Here’s what I don’t do: I do not stick to a single genre, e.g., science fiction or mystery or self-help or spiritual, and in fact, I rarely read any of those.

Slush Pile to be Read

When I was younger and relocated to different towns due to my husband’s job changes, I’d go to the new library, determined to read everything. I’d begin with A and read alphabetically. Well, that didn’t work because I would rarely get past B or C and it seemed as if the same ol’ books were shelved at every library. Later, I chose books randomly; but that didn’t satisfy because many were pretty bad. Now I select from reviews, read my book clubs’ selections, get recommendations from trusted book-reading friends, or devour professional books related to writing, publishing, and gardening. In no particular order, here are some of the books I’ve recently read and enjoyed: Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor; Past Forgetting by Kay Summersby (Morgan); the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo trilogy by Stieg Larsson; all six Jane Austen novels (again); Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand; Gardening With a Wild Heart by Judith Larner Lowry; Devil and the White City by Eric Larson;  Touch of Magenta by Linda Loveland Reid; Last Night in Twisted River by John Irving; Mao’s Last Dancer by Li Cunzin; The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon; Becoming Madame Mao by Anchee Min;  The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot; Run by Ann Patchett; The Tennis Partner and Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese; The Tortilla Curtain by T.C. Boyle; The Madonnas of Leningrad by Debra Dean; The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Isiguro; The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd; West With the Night by Beryl Markham; The Zookeeper’s Wife by Dian Ackerman; Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen; Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky; Confederates in the Attic by Tony Horwitz; and more. If only there were enough time in my life to read (or write) all the books I’d like to!

About writersandy

Writer, Gardener, Crafter
This entry was posted in Good Reads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

