‘Invisible’ Hummingbird Nests

This summer we have forty hummingbirds flying, flitting, and feeding in our garden and at the feeders. Most of them overwintered here, and I presume many of them must be a new batch of babies now grown beyond even the juvenile stage.  With all the hummers here, one would think I could have spotted at least one hummingbird nest. Nope, and I’ve looked high and low in our shrubs and trees. The one pictured above is about 30″ off the ground in the crotch of a rose bush at a friend’s home. She’s sitting on two eggs and didn’t mind being photographed. Certainly she assumes those wicked thorns will protect her from predators.  Left is a pair captured on camera in S. Calif. in a Ficus on the front porch of an empty home. Look at the shredded paper used for the nest. The next shot is of the same pair, a week later.  My, how they’ve grown! And the last shot is the abandoned nest. The photos were taken by my grandson Andrew because I’ve been bemoaning the fact that I can never spot hummingbird nests.
 Until I had this one in hand, it was difficult to understand how incredibly tiny they really are. Yes, that’s a quarter!  The shredded paper still clings to the outside–probably attached with spider webs–and the inside is filled with some airy fluff. I’ve witnessed the hummingbirds in their graceful  airborne mating ballet, so I know there have been eggs produced and babies born. But I’m still amazed that the nests of 40 hummingbirds can be practically invisible—or, very possibly in plain sight. I’ll keep looking; I know they’re there! (Check out the Hummingbird and Habitat pages of my website www.sandybakerwriter.com for more photos and information on hummingbirds.)

About writersandy

Writer, Gardener, Crafter
This entry was posted in Hummingbird Nests and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘Invisible’ Hummingbird Nests

  1. Alright Sandy, how did I miss when you started this blog? It’s fantastic!

    NOW tell me, when is it time to pick my watermelon? Looks luscious!

    • writersandy says:

      I think you pick watermelons & other melons when the stems dry out and the melons practically fall off the vine. With our coolish summer, they may take a little longer to ripen. Don’t forget to take photos of your zigging, zagging pumpkins!

  2. I have never seen a hummingbird nest! Must be tiny!

    • writersandy says:

      A hummer nest is barely 2″ across. It’s a marvel in engineering, with lichen, clothes dryer fluff, and other soft materials held together with spider webs. Look above and see how those same two birds have begun to outgrow their nest!

Leave a Reply

