Sequel: To be or not to be?

A series. A circle. A sequel. Writing terms for follow-on books or stories. When I began writing kid gardening books, I thought I was writing a series. But a series usually has the same characters planted in different plots, like Nancy Drew, Percy Jackson, Judy Moody, etc. (You ought to try the “Green Bayou Novels” series by Rhonda Raymond Dennis, about a female EMT in South Louisiana.) However, each of my kid books, beginning
with Mrs. Feeny and the Grubby Garden Gang, Zack’s Zany Zucchiniland and another six yet-to-be-published, all have different protagonists and plots. (I’m thinking down the road in one grand finale, I might have them all meet.) So, I asked the question at a seminar. Lo and behold, I’m writing a circle–same general theme, i.e. kid gardening, but none of the same characters and different situations. I’ve found I enjoy introducing different kids in each book, and whose families and homes mirror those in the real world: only child, little sister, disabled neighbor, naughty kids, single parent, varying ethnicities, country kids, city kids, and the like. I don’t feel stuck with one kid in one environment. So, that’s my circle, with more kid gardening books to follow the first two. Now, a sequel. The thriller, The Tehran Triangle, I co-authored with Tom Reed was supposed to be a one-shot deal. CIA agent Elizabeth Mallory would investigate the Iranian nuclear plot, take care of the bad guys, and that would be the end of it. Many of our readers are clamoring for a sequel. What will happen to Elizabeth and Bum? What will Elizabeth get mired in next? Who will she have to bump off? Our readers want to know. Tom and I never thought in those terms, but I’m being encouraged to reconsider . He says No, but I’m beginning to wonder. What dangerous assignment would the CIA next give her? Is she safe or a walking target? Must she go underground? Will the Iranians devise another plan? When? What? Hmmm. I must say that I admire any author who thinks in terms of series and sequels, with so much forethought and planning required, and not as a single stand-alone novel like ours. I would need an entire football field-size wall for plot lines, characters, flow charts, calendars, biographies, etc. Do I/we have the fortitude, the patience, the persistence? I don’t know. Guess this discussion will have to be continued . . . a sequel?

About writersandy

Writer, Gardener, Crafter
This entry was posted in Children's Gardening Book, Writing, Writing Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sequel: To be or not to be?

  1. Thank you very much for the mention! I’m honored!

Leave a Reply

