Clichés: Leave No Stone Unturned

Maybe I’m in over my head here, but to make a long story short, clichés bore me to tears. The bottom line is that clichés make us all fall asleep at the wheel. Some might say I shouldn’t rock the boat on this topic, but imagesI get bent out of shape every time I see an old, overused, stale cliché. Have I hit the nail on the head with you? When I see a hackneyed phrase in a piece I’m editing, I fight the writer tooth and nail to the bitter end to eliminate it. I will leave no stone unturned to find other wording. I kid you not. Maybe I’m out on a limb on this one, but come hell or high water, I want that cliché gone. I say, “You gotta go the whole nine yards, scratch below the surface,  there are a million ways to rephrase that.” She’ll say, “Hold your horses. These words are a blessing nutshellin disguise. Everyone will understand exactly what I mean.” I say, “At the end of the day, we don’t have to reinvent the wheel. Just scrape the bottom of the barrel and use different words.” See what I’m trying to say? I’m between a rock and a hard place here. My writer is one in a million and she may not have come through the school of hard knocks, but the long and the avoidshort of it is, NO Clichés! She tells me I’m skating on thin ice by insisting. But the bottom line for me, as her editor, is NO clichés. Be that as it may, sometimes she pushes me around the bend, but I think she’s coming to grips with it. In a nutshell, she’ll be back in the saddle soon enough and will agree. Ya got that?

About writersandy

Writer, Gardener, Crafter
This entry was posted in Pet Peeves, Writing, Writing Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Clichés: Leave No Stone Unturned

  1. Well that’s a fine how-do-you-do to clichés, Sandy!

  2. Marie says:

    So sue me, I love using ’em.

Leave a Reply

