We Write What We Know…or Not

We write what we know (or see or hear). That’s the writer’s motto cliché. It’s true. In looking back at all my writing, I can see that there’s a bit of me in everything, published or not. Not major things, but tidbits of personality, body language, use of language, outlook on life, methods of operation. Not only are hints of me in my work, but features of other people I know or have observed.

My antennae work full time, observing tics or unique facial expressions, language peculiarities, clothing, odors, movements. “What are you looking at?” my husband asks. “I’m watching the guy pull at his shirt collar and hunch his shoulders every 20 seconds.” Or, “I’m listening to the guy with the throat-clearing tic.” “I’m watching the girl constantly smooth her eyebrows.” “I’m listening to that woman introduce every sentence with ‘It’s the sort of thing’.” “I’m smelling that funny skunk or patchouli odor somewhere.” Oh.

Sooo, I just published a collection of nine short stories plus an epilogue, knowing very little: Adventures of the Hotel Sisters. Eight siblings and their Hotel Sisters FRONT cover WITH SPINE_11-19-15divorced mother live in and run a hotel in the 1920s, a period in American history that always fascinated me. I had a few alleged facts about the family and the hotel and ran with them! The rest I concocted or researched.

Actually, it was both fun and challenging as I tried to stay true to the known details and also the history of the Roaring Twenties. I guess one could say the stories are “historical fiction.” I also included five pages of glossary of words and expressions from those days (for the younger generation).

chp1_FINAL1Because Carrie, the story-teller, ages from four to 16, I say the book is appropriate for about 11-14 year olds. However, one of my blurbers is a mentally agile 97 year-old woman who remembers the 1920s. I truly think nonagenarians would enjoy Adventures of the Hotel Sisters as well. Good, bad, sad, and humorous things happen from 1918-1930. It’s 126 pages of mostly light reading. Go to www.amazon.com/author/sandybakerwriter for either the $12 paperback (on sale now) or the $4.99 Kindle book. Soon it will be on my website www.sandybakerwriter.com. And of course, enjoy!

 

About writersandy

Writer, Gardener, Crafter
This entry was posted in Book Review, Writing, Writing Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We Write What We Know…or Not

  1. jeannejusaitis says:

    Hotel Sisters is a light, fun read with an undertow of heavy subject matter; an abusive father, a family trying to make ends meet in the depression, and the challenges of a young girl in the 20’s. It is written with an attention to historical detail in its clothes, manners, language, and customs. Young readers will be introduced to an all but forgotten time in American history in an authentic but entertaining way.

  2. jeannejusaitis says:

    Oops, correction . . . I meant an abusive husband, not father. But that whole concept is underplayed, as he is absent for most of the stories in the book.

Leave a Reply

